9:00 AM09:00

Booth at Center for Medical Humanities and Ethics Conference


6th Annual Community Service Learning (CSL) Conference

The location of the conference is the School of Nursing, UT Health Science Center San Antonio, 7703 Floyd Curl Drive, San Antonio, Texas, 78220.

If you are a student or employee of UT Health Science Center San Antonio, please park in your usual space.  If you are joining us from off campus, please click here for parking directions and map.

1. To share best practices and scholarship in community service learning with a focus on healthy behavior change through innovative use of positive peer pressure models.

2. To bring together an inter-professional group of UT Health Science Center students, faculty, and staff from across the state with community partners to foster service learning collaborations.

3. To highlight existing UT Health Science System community service learning projects and future opportunities with community partners.

4. To recognize and reward excellence in community service learning within the UT Health Science System.

View Event →
6:00 PM18:00

Elegant Evening at Betty Howard’s Carriage House Honoring Alvin Lowenberg, George A. Hernandez, Jr.. Marion Primomo, and Dr. John Mangos

Photography by Greg Harrison

On Saturday, February 16, 2013 we acknowledged the work of George B. Hernãndez, CEO of University Health System, Alvin Loewenberg, CEO of Morningside Ministries, John Mangos, M.D., a pioneer in pediatric pulmonology and Marion Primomo, M.D., a trail blazer in San Antonio hospice care.

These four honorees embody the “patient-first” spirit of the late Dr. Irving Ratner, in whose memory The Patient Institute was founded.

Dr. Ratner was the first pediatric surgeon in South Texas and cared for thousands of patients and their families. The Irving A. Ratner, M.D.  awards presented to these honorees pay tribute to his memory and honor current physicians who are living his legacy. “Compassion has driven the work of each of tonight’s honorees,”  said Francesca Garrett, Chief Operating Officer of the Patient Institute. “Like Irving, each saw a need in our city and in our healthcare system, and worked tirelessly to address it.”

View Event →
6:00 PM18:00

Elegant Evening Honoring Dr. Sheldon Braverman, Dr. Howard Britton, and Dr. Joaquin Cigarroa, Jr. at the Home of Deborah and Morris Miller

For tickets for or sponsorship information about An Elegant Evening 2015, please call

(210) 862-1678 or email events@patientinstitute.org.

Once again, a Huge Thank You to The Patient Institute 2014 Elegant Evening Sponsors!!!

Dr. Adam and Varda Ratner and Joan Ratner, Ph.D
The Patient Institute Board of Directors

Cynthia Kay Kirksey
Shari and Randy Pulman—Pulman, Cappuccio, Pullen, Benson & Jones, LLP
Wave Healthcare
Eilan Hotel and Spa
The Patient Institute Advisory Board
Merz North America, LLC
Dr. Francisco and Graciela Cigarroa

Braverman Family Charitable Foundation
Herb and Sylvia Brown
Tim Lyles—From The Father With Love
The Health Collaborative, in honor of Dr. Vivian Bucay
Ulthera, Inc., in honor of Dr. Vivian Bucay
University Health Systems
Antonian Health, in honor of Dr. Vivian Bucay
Vivian Bucay, M.D., FAAD, New Beauty Magazine
Medicis Aesthetic
Medicis Derm

Aspen Medical USA
The Bar-Yadin Family Foundation
Golden Manor Jewish Senior Services and Jewish Care System of San Antonio
Deborah and Morris Miller
Emilie Pitman-Kreager
Dr. Michael and Maggie Singer—Medical Center Opthalmology
Sol Schwartz & Associates, P.C.
Angela Zarnoti
Dr. and Mrs. Philip D. Zinn
Dr. and Mrs. Albert E. Sanders
Adam and Lori Stockstiel
Jared and Robin Diamond
Roger and Emmy Eth
Gurinsky’s Jewelers, in honor of all of the honorees
Mr. and Mrs. Steven Butler
CoolSculpting, in support of Dr. Vivian Bucay
Neiman Marcus
Dr. David and Elizabeth Friedman
Wheat and Sherry Bailey

View Event →